Some people are of the opinion that there should be a car-free day once every month, on which no private vehicles are allowed on the road. Discuss the advantages and possible disadvantages.

A few people suggested that there should be a car-free day once every month when no personal automobile is allowed on road. Such conditions have pros and cons. Firstly, it will help in lowering down the levels of pollution and on the other hand, it creates problems too like connectivity issues for some people. The biggest advantage that the emission of toxic gases into the environment will be reduced to some extent. It is known fact that emission of hazardous gases leads to global warming and climate change. Carry-out the aforementioned solution, at least for a day, this will be reduced. Additionally, no private vehicles means less traffic which eventually results in no accidents. For instance, car-free day was implemented in Delhi on trial basis and the results are tremendously great. On the contrary, this would generates problems for people with less or no connectivity with public transport. For example, cities like Delhi and Mumbai have working crowd settled in sub-urban areas with very limited connectivity with urban transportation services. For such cases, government will have to arrange extra transits. Besides, in the act of emergency, one may not prefer to use public transport or wait for emergency services for help to arrive. In conclusion, car-free day will effect the public routine for a day, however on brighter side, this will surely be beneficial for our surrounding and for us in longer run.