Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children.

Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having negative impact on children. I feel this is true to same extend since media is constantly covering news which can give them more television rating points. Children are glued to their television sets for long hours and they tend to follow celebrities lifestyles and adopt their culture in many ways. Media can cover celebrities in their worst situations and this can have great impact on children. For example, they may capture any celebrity smoking in their balcony and if the celebrity is very famous among children, they may get associated with smoking habit and may sometimes even try it. Sometimes there are even cases when celebrity attempts sucide and their pictures are all over media. Such things can surely affect young minds since they are not matured enough to control their life. There are times when good deeds such as charity or any kind of donation by celebrity which helps society and people are covered by media for publicity. These things can encourage children to offer help to people who are in need and may even educate others to do so. If media covers such good deeds done by celebrity, parents can even educate children by showing them their good work. Children can get motivated by Speech given by their famous celebrity. There are some advantages which can outweigh disadvantages but this depends on media as well as parents who can shape childrens future and show them the right path. I feel media can never be controlled or stopped from covering what they feel will gain more publicity so this can have negative effect on children.