Some people are of the opinion that there should be a car-free day once every month, on which no private vehicles are allowed on the road. Discuss the advantages and possible disadvantages.

Nowadays, most of the people owns a personal car and they prefer to travel in a car for better convenience, but this leads to traffic. Because of that, some people believes that private vehicles should ban once in a month to control traffic related problems. This essay will discuss further some merits and demerits of the above statement. Recently, everybody prefers to go in car rather than take a public transportation. Private vehicles are beneficial for convenience. Because you don’t have to follow the timetable of bus and train, secondly no need to spend extra money on rental cab and auto. For long journey with family or friends, personal car is always good option. For example, you can start according to your time and take a break anywhere anytime for refreshment. In addition to that, possession of a personal car is not as difficult as before, because now a days folks are fine with second hand vehicle which is affordable. On the other hand, primary and most serious demerit is traffic. Heavy traffic leads to serious health problems and environmental issues such as noise pollution and air pollution. In addition to this, the number passenger who are supposed to travel in public transportation are decreasing drastically and due to this availability of buses and trains are less. To sum up, people always thinks about their comfort and enjoyment and for that usage of personal vehicles have increased which has merits and demerits as well. However private car helps to ease the journey but large number of vehicles on road causes congestion. That is why there should be ban on private car once in a while.