Nowadays some parents feel that schoolchildren are given too much homework. In your opinion, should homework time be reduced or banned altogether?

Homework is a common feature of school life and there is no doubt that giving students some homework is a useful exercise. Too much homework, however, can cause a great deal of unnecessary stress for pupils. In the following essay I will discuss the reasons for this view. Homework is a beneficial tool for several reasons. Most importantly, it teaches pupils to work independently and to practise the skills or knowledge acquired during lesson time. They are able to work on projects or extended pieces of work, which they have to research either in the library or using the internet. In addition, homework teaches children the discipline needed to complete work to a deadline - a very important life skill. One other benefit is that it helps parents to become involved in their child's learning. By helping with homework, parents can understand what is being learnt at school and encourage their child to become interested in the topic. It may even help keep youngsters away from their phone screens for a short period of time. On the other hand, it is important to note that too much homework could have a negative impact on a child's ability to learn. Excessive amounts of homework could be very stressful and ruin a child's enjoyment of being at school. In my opinion, homework should be limited to one hour every evening so that children have the time to become involved in other extra curricular activities such as sport or music lessons. To conclude therefore, homework does indeed have a value at school and should a banned altogether. However, it is vitally important that homework does not domina child's time at home. There must also be adequate time for family, friends and sport.