Some people are of the opinion that there should be a car-free day once every month, on which no private vehicles are allowed on the road. Discuss the advantages and possible disadvantages.

The increasing number of private vehicles on the roads is a real threat to environment. In such circumstances, some recommend prohibiting private cars on the roads once every month. This essay will elaborate both merits snd demerits of such act. on the bright side, firstly, this is an eco-friendly initiative whereas toxic substances such as carbon dioxide, nitrous oxide from the vehicles emission on the roads would dip at least by a percentage. Secondly, these harmful gases can be controlled at least for one day which in turn limits the carbon foot print to some extent. In addition to that, automobiles not only causes air pollution but also noise pollution such ss honking of horns which deafens the ears during peak hours. For instance, metropolitan city like Delhi traffic is so congested and air quality is poor due to this large number of four wheelers. on the flip side, most individuals commute to-and-fro their workplaces and sites by their own transport. Moreover, introducing such policies can have a devastating effect on business units and corporations. Furthermore, the metro trains and buses would not be able to tackle the problem of a huge number of passengers on a particular day. Similarly, the passenger convenience and comfort cannot be effectively me. To sight an instance, developing countries where population is in large-scale public transit will be overcrowded. In conclusion, Even though this has some benefits including reduction of traffic congestion and less pollution, meanwhile, workstations and office attenders will suffer a lot.