Some people are of the opinion that long prison sentence reduces crime rate, while other believe other alternatives should be explored. Discuss birth views and give your opinion.

The long jail term is believed by many to be a punitive measure that brings about a decline in the rate of offence, while certain individuals hold a different view. I am of the notion that various alternative punishment can be explored to reduce this rate as a result of various bad outcome experienced by ex-convicts. On the one hand, the prison term is thought to bring about correction and remorse. However, a lot of dismerit has been associated with its outcome. Firstly, an unstable mental state resulting from family separation. Convicts, over a long duration, become depressed, as they have lost connections with their loved ones. Thus, they exit the correctional home with no one to go to and eventually return back to the streets. For instance, a colleague who spent 20 years in jail found it difficult to relate with family after serving time. He got accustomed to the ways of street life, carrying out dubious activities. Secondly, inmates are exposed to the criminal mind of all sorts, and it's known that like minds think alike. As a result of spending time with them in prison, most of them change their attitude for the worse. Thus, this process would eventually increase misdemeanour incidence. On the other hand, various corrective measures with a shorter duration could be explored, Such as house arrest, the outdoor correctional facility where a certain task is assigned to offenders and are carried out under strict supervision for a short time. Such a folk is remorseful as they usually have the presence of family support to help them navigate. Ultimately, they are productive and contribute to society by attending to their task, concurrently paying for a crime committed. Therefore, they have a sound state of mind with no interest in dubious activities. The measure enables them to experience a certain amount of shame. For example, a church member who was placed on house arrest got off after 6 months, though depressed about the Incident, repented of his bad actions and vowed never to be found breaking the law. In conclusion, a prolonged prison term is perceived to be the best way to bring about a decline in the rate of crime, while others believe differently. I am of the opinion that other punitive measures of a shorter duration outside of a confined setting be explored to bring about a reduction in crime.