Some parents want their children to read only serious educational books at all times, and they think it is a waste of time to read any entertainments books.

Education is always a heated topic around people’s life. Some parents think that reading entertainments book is useless for their children’s growth, they should spend all the time on serious educational books. Personally, I do not support this opinion. The reading entertainment book could beneficial children’s growth. Firstly, these books can provide the knowledge which not be found in text books. For instance, it is really hard to find knowledge about in dealing with people in textbooks, which usually fully covered by the theories and formulas. But children can learn some interpersonal abilities and skills through reading stories and novels. Secondly, entertainments books update more frequently and provide diversified information to readers, such as news, science and technology reports. Textbooks usually renew the content once a year at most and be locked in a specific range, which is not good for children to broaden their horizon. Finally, children will have more to discuss with peers after they read entertainments books, which would be really helpful for youth making friends. A well-read child is always liked. However, everything has two sides, contents of entertainments books are too messy. Some information is not suitable for youth, such as sexual and violent stories and photos. Moreover, certain awareness has written inside the entertainments could be wrong, because it’s not as rigorous as educational books. For example, some of the views in magazines just are recording the speaker’s personal opinion, but this opinion might not be proved by experts. Therefore, to avoid negative effects parents should help their children choose the reliable outside readings. In conclusion, reading the suitable entertainments can improve and broaden children’s knowledge. At the same time, parents should avoid the influence of poor content with their children.