Some parents think that helping their children with homework is good Others think children should do their homework on their own Discuss both views and give your opinion

There are some parents that feel there are benefits to aiding their children with their homework; however, there are also those that believe children should complete work on their own. I believe that both arguments have valid points that will be further discussed below. On the one hand, some may opine that it is good for parents to help their children — especially younger children — with their homework, as they are able to support them whilst completing it together. Having assistance from a parental figure is able to aid children with the explanation of concepts that are unfamiliar or too complex to comprehend. Younger children in primary school may be given tasks that they are facing for the first time, and may require additional help from parents to finish their homework. For this reason, people feel that it is good for parents to help their children with their school work. On the other hand, others argue that children should complete their own homework by themselves as this builds confidence over time that may be beneficial for their adulthood. The confidence built to take on challenges alone from school tasks can be translated into day-to-day practices later on. Older children can gain self-fulfilment from doing their own homework, but this fostered independence will enable them to tackle issues with documentation and paperwork that may come up in the future at workplaces during their adult lives. With the advantages of building more confidence, children should do their homework on their own. In my opinion, I strongly believe that children who obtain help from their parents to do their homework only seek to gain clarity and reduce overwhelming feelings when dealing with questions they are not familiar with. Nevertheless, older children who do their homework by themselves are able to increase their self-esteem that will equip them for their futures. In conclusion, I believe from the aforementioned points above that it is advantageous for parents who help children with their homework, especially those who are primary school-aged. Having said that, older children should be encouraged to complete work on their own to foster confidence that will help them in their adulthoods.