Some parents think that helping their children with homework is good Others think children should do their homework on their own Discuss both views and give your opinion

Education, in the past decades, has become a right for most of us living in developed countries. Today the standards are exceedingly high due to the technological evolution, and children are required to excel in all classes. But this has increased the amount of homework that the youths have to complete, giving a parent two options: either help his child in completing it or giving him the opportunity to finish it himself. In my opinion, parent should only give instructions and let them decide how to complete their homework. In this essay I will discuss both views. Firstly, by providing help to their kids, they give them the opportunity to have a better understanding of the lessons they were taught. This can lead to a greater grade in their given year. To illustrate, a study carried out by the University of Cambridge showed that, adolescence, of age 6-10, that have had help from home, were better performing than ones that were not provided any support. Moreover, it can lead to a stronger bond with among family members. On the other hand, letting them find their own ways to finish their school chores, has a lot to offer them. Firstly, it will ensure a long-term connection with the education process and provide them with the ability to exceed in the years coming. For example, the Greek government surveyed and found out that, teenagers that in their younger age did not have help from their household, had better grades, in contrast to the ones that had had, by a percentage of 2-5%. Also, by achieving higher goals, they cultivate a feeling of success, that improves their personality and helps them get mature faster. Taking everything into consideration, it is my firm belief that parents should only advise their children and give them the opportunity to find their way of completing homework. But, for this to be effective, the government must advise them on how doing it, in a way that it does not steer their children away from education.