3. News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to write in newspaper. What factors influence this decision? Do you think we use to see bad news? Should more good news be reported?

For many years, newspaper and television play an integral role in our day to day life. Nowadays, news editors select what will people watch on television and read in a newspaper. There are various factors behind this decision. As per my opinion, they should report more good news as in normal circumstances both mediums of information provide negative news. There are multiple reasons behind telecasting and writing certain news. Firstly, all the news channels and newspapers organisations are financially backed by political parties. Hence they have to report news as demonstrated by respective parties. Secondly, they are more focused on earning high margins as they have cutthroat competition among peers. As per human psychology, people are more keen to know negative news than news with positive information. Due to this attitude of human nature, news companies provide more bad news to cater eyeballs of people which leads them towards earning higher profits. Furthermore, negative news do not serve public interests but definitely protect the interests of the advertisers. For instance, covid 19 cases spike across the nation. All the news channels telecast information regarding nogal virus throughout a day. Same imply with newspaper as entire paper is filled with negative information of pandemic. These news create insecurity among people which increase vaccine drive therefore, we can say that bad news serves commercial interests better than positive news. To conclude, editors are influenced by several factors and they are more into earning higher income hence they will act according to their interests. As per my opinion, they should provide unbiased, reliable and positive news so that people can aware about reality.