Some parents do not spend much free time with their children. Why is this? What effects does this have on children and parents?

There is no doubt that due to the current lifestyle, parents are dedicating a reduced amount of their free time to their children. This essay will discuss some of the reasons behind this trend and would also elucidate the consequences on both of them. To begin with, the main reasons why parents are unable to spend their free space with their children are due to hectic work schedule and household chores. To explain further, parents spend more hours in office, which leaves less time to be with their children. For instance, I work in varied shift timings on a rotational basis, hence I rarely get opportunities to fully interact with my daughters. In addition, people involved in household chores could rarely find time to mingle with their offspring. This is because, they are into multiple tasks which involves cooking, washing clothes, cleaning utensils and other activities. Consequently, this would end up spending minimal time with them. Furthermore, these are not left without harmful consequences for parents and children. As parents spend minimal time with their children, they end up watching television or involve in activities which could not be beneficial. As children are not closely monitored, they are involved in illegal activities or move into inappropriate paths. Parents must make sure that they mingle with their children, as this could open the window for them to share their thoughts. For instance, children would love to discuss with their parents, things taught at class or daily conversations with their peer groups. On the contrary, parents become mentally depressed, if they are not satisfied with the time period they spend with their children. This could also lead to various stress related disorders and to an extend would find it difficult to keep up work life balance. In conclusion, although parents are busy with their work and homely tasks, spending an adequate amount of time with their children is imperative. Moreover, this would leave parents less depressed and children not being drifted apart from their career.