Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is rendundant and should not be taught while others belive that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used in life. Discuss both sides

List of subjects that need to be included in teaching curriculum is always a debatable topic. While few parents are in the opinion that mathematics must not be included, others prefer it in the syllabus as it is one of the basic subject that every student must understand. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in depth. A section of parents believe that teaching mathematics is unimportant and should be removed from the course. The main reason is that the student undergo unnecessary pressure of passing the subject to advance in their academics even though their interest lie in pursuing career in fields like Arts or music which have no relation with mathematics. For example, many sports-persons do not even complete their academics before becoming successful in their career. Hence, some parents are under impression that mathematics is no longer relevant and can be excluded. On the flip side, some still stick to the thought that mathematics is essential and should be part of subject list. Although complex calculations are done using a calculator or computer, simple calculations like addition and subtraction play a vital role in everyday activities. For instance, this skill is required in our day-to-day monetary transactions like dealing with hawkers, or purchasing a train ticket. This makes it evident on why few parents think that mathematics is a must have subject. Should mathematics be removed from school's syllabus? A number of parents think that mathematics is outdated and not necessarily to be included in the syllabus whereas others are in the opinion that it is always a fundamental subject, This essay discussed the various reasons why parents hold these points of view and whether mathematics should remain a part of students school studies.