Some experts believe that is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? pqdw

Traditionally, children begin studying foreign languages at secondary school. Many individual schools or educationalists have recommended to study foreign languages at an earlier stage. However this policy may bring some advantages along with some disadvantages. This essay will further discuss whether extending foreign language study to the primary stages is beneficial and if disadvantages may occur in the later stages. Obviously young children pick up languages much more easily than teenagers. Their brains are programmed to learn their mother tongue which also facilitates learning another language. At a young age, children are enthusiastic to explore and to learn new things. The primary time table should allow more frequent shorter sessions for maintaining learner's enthusiasm and progress. Acquiring foreign languages can also help them to understand other cultures. However, there are some disadvantages. Primary school teachers may not have the necessary language skills or they are not well trained for that particular languages. If any language specialist is called then the flexibility of sessions is diminished. Primary language teaching needs to be standardised, so that secondary schools do not face problems in their intake. Failing to undoes the earlier gains. In some situations, it would become very stressful to the child when he has to learn three languages i. e. native languages and foreign languages. Some researchers have shown from their studies that such children have difficulties in deciding which language to speak and may end up learning nothing, In conclusion, a standardised policy can be adopted at primary schools which can also benefit society culturally and economically. Young children's grasping power can make these benefits more achievable.