Should curriculum be decided by learners?

Education plays an integral part in the upliftment of the nation. Some proponents claim that the choice of subjects should be made by the apex authorities, while others deem differently by stating that learners must decide their curriculum with regards to their interests. I will juxtapose both the perspectives before reaching a reasonable conclusion. From the from ideology, subjects chosen by the higher authorities will provide ample of exclusive opportunities for learners as they will be qualified enough for getting any suitable work. As a result, more job vacancies by government will decline the figures of unemployment. Moreover, if numerous facilities for instance, educational institutions, study materials along with well qualified staff are being provided by the official authorities, then they will make it certain that appropriate utilization of resources takes place. Undoubtedly, crucial subjects such as commerce, medical and It will form a fundamental part of government’s curriculum owing to more professionals inclusive of upliftment of economy. From the latter ideology, educates must have freedom for making independent choices regarding their subjects. The preponderant reason for this includes the difference of interests. Certainly, students performance will be elevated if they consider studying with regards to their own preferences rather than the government’s choices. Also, this will not only provide valuable expertise, but also enhance job opportunities. Taking an illustration, learners having keen interest in coding will get inclined towards working efficiently in a reputed IT firm rather than working beyond their interest and proficiency. Even, inculcating the subjects prescribed by the apex authorities can inadvertently result in spoiling of learners future due to selecting inappropriate career path. In the epilogue, I would say that both the views are true to some extent and none can be refuted outrightly. In my opinion, educates must be allowed to decide their curriculum. However, assistance and career guidance by government can play an integral role for the growth of students.