Many medical doctors select to work in cities for making money. However, there are not enough medical doctors in rural areas. What is the cause? What is the solution for this issue?

In recent years, an increasing number of medical doctors choose to work in cities for significantly higher income, leading to the lack of doctors in remote places. From my perspective, several factors contribute to this trend, and there are solutions to tackle this tendency. To begin with, there are several factors have caused this issue. The most obivious aspect is the comparatively higher level of income offered by health facilities, including hospitals and clinics, in cities. Indeed, an average income of doctors working in cities could be four or five times higher than their counterparts in remote areas. This is given by the fact that most patience coming to hospitals in cities willingly pay at all cost to maintain their well-being, ranging from medical examinations to treatment on their terminal ills. By contrast, people in many remote areas do not consider going to established health facilities in the first place when they have health problems. Because they simply cannot afford medical expenses in hospitals, not to mention many still hold supertitious belief on local traditional healers, medical doctors in such areas have significantly lower number of patience to treat. In spite of several causes, there are possible solutions to tackle this issue. First, government should subsidily develop healthcare systems, especially health facilities, medical equipment and infrastructure, by which increasing the effectiveness of doctors' performance and raising the status of proper health centers in remote areas. Second, medical doctors who work in rural areas should be encouraged by having, for example, financial incentives as well as career promotion. In conclusion, the lack of medical doctors in rural areas can be attributed to the inaccesibility of established health centers in rural areas for locals. Thus, law-makers should develop healthcare systems in these areas for the sake of the people.