Some parents believe that children need strict rules. Other parents believe children should have a lot of freedom to make decisions on their own.

Establishing rules with children can be complicated. Young children look to their parents for security and order, and rules are one important way they acquire this sense. However, as they mature, young people need room to make decisions so they can develop an independent sense of responsibility towards themselves and others. For this reason, I believe that while children need clear and consistently enforced rules, they should not be restricted so severely that they have very few opportunities to think independently. Most children are subjected to rules they dislike. However, when the purpose of a rule is communicated clearly and the parents’ enforcement is fair and consistent, a rule can help children to learn how to take on responsibility and act appropriately. For example, at a certain age, very young kids are capable of cleaning up their own messes, but often they must be told to do so. The child must be taught, through rules and repetition, that taking responsibility for one’s own messes is important. As another example, many teenagers don’t always think through the consequences of their actions fully before they act. Indeed, brain research has shown that teenagers are more likely to act impulsively because their brains are wired to do so. This is why parents should be very firm about rules that prevent risky or otherwise negative behaviors. Nevertheless, parents should not be overbearing. The goal of parenting should be to prepare a child to make independent choices that will lead to a happy and fulfilling life. The best way to achieve this goal is to grant more and more freedom as the child progresses towards adulthood. For example, at some point a child must learn to take school work seriously and help out around the house. The ultimate goal is for the child to internalize the desire to be a good student and a helpful housemate. If parents fail to demonstrate trust by allowing some freedom for their children to try (and sometimes fail) to do the right things independently, it is likely that the child will act out against strict rules rather than internalize them. Of course, every child will respond to rules differently. This is yet another reason why it’s important for parents to find appropriate balance. While parents should enforce rules with consistency and clarity, they should constantly seek opportunities for a child to show that he or she can act the right way independently.