Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. wgpe

It is argued that some companies value the work performed over the attire of the employees where as other companies still believe that clothing plays an intricate part for employees in their workspace. It is believed that the clothing, fragrance and overall appearance do have an impact on your work. the choice somehow unconsciously effects our work routine and behavior in the workspace. For example, if there are formal meetings conducted in the workspace, most of us tend to prefer official wear such as men for formal suits and women for skirt or pant suits which is considered to be utmost decent wear while presenting ideas or participating in discussion of meetings. Although, it impacts us the real question does it have a positive or a negative impact. There are some organizations, who expect their employees to follow the clothing norms. These expectations can affect the employees indirectly in a way that they are being constantly forced to prioritize something that is completely irrelevant to the job role. On the contrary, some believe it is rather hard to focus on certain official clothing rules that act has great hindrance while working effectively. For instance, the time dedicated just to choose which attire is suitable could be very time consuming or rather needs to be planned a day before the meeting. The process of not just planning is time consuming but also, the preparation for the same such as dry cleaning. There are certain perquisites required for every attire based on material and accessories. This arrangements can severely affect the time allocated for work unless the employee does it out of will. One of the best examples of companies that value quality of work over the appearance is google. Google has allowed their employees to work at ease with their suitable and comfortable workwear. This has an extremely positive impact on the performance of work as most of the employees are able to allocate time efficiently to upskill themselves and balance their professional and personal life. Such organizational decisions on clothing norms is entirely dependent on the job role, organizational value and their priority. In conclusion, it is considered wise to always reach out to the employees through a survey internally and allow them to make their own choices. This way, they have the right to choose on suitable way of working without compromising the quality of work.