Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuses both these views and give your own opinion.

Casual work days are becoming increasingly popular among top-tier companies. While they do offer more comfort, many organizations still require their employees to dress in a formal way. This essay will discuss why casual appearances offer comfort, but why dressing smartly is a better option in the long run. Informal clothing is more convenient than conventional suits and it keeps people from exhaustion, weariness and tiredness. People sitting in an office from 9 to 5 can save the hassle of getting tired of working in front of a computer for a large amount of time. For instance, wearing comfortable sneakers puts less strain on one's legs than wearing an old pair of leather shoes. Dressing casually is a healthy choice that relieves our bodies of unnecessary pressure. Yet, formal clothing is one of the biggest parts of workplace etiquette that can change one's attitude to work. One will feel much more assertive in their abilities and performance if they wear appropriate clothing. According to a survey completed in 2017 by Arizona State University, by dressing smartly students feel more confident about their knowledge and, as a consequence, show better results at final exams. Dressing formally ensures that students' and employees' potential doesn't go to waste. Workplace appearance has been a hotly-debated topic for a long time. This essay discussed why casual clothing is generally healthier and more efficient, but why dressing smartly makes us better performers, and, therefore, is a safer choice. In my opinion, dressing formally is a great way to increase one's trust in their own abilities.