The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Obesity among children in western society is continuously increasing by 20% in the last ten years. There are many possible causes attributing to this disturbing trend, as well as harmful effects in the future of these young children. Firstly, one possible cause is due to lack of exercise among children. Nowadays, younger generations are so addicted to high tech gadgets such as Ipad and smartphones. Because of these, many children opted to stay at home rather than go out and be more physically active. Another possible cause is the growth of fast food chains, such as Mcdonalds. Fast food chains are widely known as one of the major contributors of the growing obesity problems in western countries. Parents have encouraged their young kids to eat in places like Mcdonalds because it its affordable price. These fast food chains alsoentice children by offering them foods like spaghetti, chicken, and fries which are less healthy, oily and fatty. The effects of obesity to children when they grow up into adults are very harmful and damaging to their health. One of the common effects of being overweight is to have heart complications which can result to heart attack, or worse, sudden death. Cardiac Arrest or Heart Attack is known as one of the major causes of death to majority of the people as a result of eating fatty and oily foods. In addition, being overweight can cause mental and emotional stress among children. The society has certain expectation of when it comes to our physical appearance. If the child is overweight, he or she is prone to bullying from other children, and this can lead to anxiety and depression. Because of these causes and effects mentioned, it is important for parents to monitor their children to have a balanced and healthy lifestyle. if parents teach their children the importance of eatin a proper diet, they are not only helping their kids to be physicall strong, but also to be mentally healthy.