Nowadays shops have extended opening hours almost every day of the week in many countries. Is it a positive or negative development for shoppers and local community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent times, all over the world, shops’ working hours have been noticeably increased throughout the week. In my opinion, it is an optimistic trend as it boosts economy by increasing the financial turnover, and equally beneficial for customers as they can have greater access to goods and services at their own convenient time. To start with, one of the various benefits stores provide when it facilitates round the clock is employment opportunities for residents. In addition, the companies themselves will gain profit / receive high remuneration because it will bring more business. To illustrate, if a store runs 24 hours, they need more workforce to serve customers and manage administration, thus generate job openings for local communal. Moreover, elevation in business results in increased revenue, consequently, the owner needs to pay more tax to the government which becomes the source for improving the economy of the state. Furthermore, in this modern era, many jobs require shift duties, where individuals are bound to work according to their duty schedules. For example, people working in armed forces, refineries, security services or hospitals serve the community 24 hours; hence prolonged opening hours of departmental stores is a blessing for busy professionals who often work odd hours and they can easily shop at their convenient time. Apart from that, 24 hours opening markets provide a security to local people, especially walkers who will arrive home late due to their office located far away from the house. To conclude, extended working hours of the stores benefit the community, the workers and the businesses which will contribute in country’s economy.