Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

The outside appearance can be very important to some people and some situations especially in first-time meetings because it has always been said that the first impression is relevant but it doesn't mean that you will be able to tell everything about someone by the way they dress. In my opinion, people can dress whenever they want to because they have the right to do so, but sometimes it also depends on time and place. I think that dress codes shouldn't be too strict mostly on daily workdays but you should also dress smartly on occasions such as big meetings or conferences with particular people. You would want to look professional and put together to gain people's trust with work. But then again, I agree with valuing quality work above appearance and think that both parts should be done equally. Clothes can really affect the way you handle work, for example, if you wear uncomfortable clothes it can irritate you and interrupt you with your tasks as you are always thinking about how uncomfy your clothes are and wish to change them. In contrast, if you are wearing comfortable but appropriate clothes it will allow your work to flow better, not only that, but gives you a peaceful mind allowing you to focus on what you are doing better rather than thinking about something else. In conclusion, the outside appearance plays an important part but should not be taken too seriously, at the same time should not be taken loosely as well. Appropriateness is the key.