In order to solve traffic and environmental issue; Some cities have vehicle-free days when cars are banned from the city, and the only vehicles permitted are public transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree that the benefits of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The influx of cars in the major cities is the number one contributing factors of pollution around the world. Some metropolitan areas encourage commuters to utilize public transportation and restricting car owners to enter the town. In my opinion, I agree that the benefits of having private cars on the road on certain days will have a positive impact on the surroundings. To begin with, the government should build an effective transport system where people can use like trains and buses. for example, in London there are transport alternatives like past tubes and double buses in every corners of major shopping areas. In addition, there are timetables that the people could expect when is the train or bus coming in as well as the tickets can be used for both public transports. In this way people may feel comfortable and would have an easy life when going to the city. Furthermore, fare ticket is another way to persuade people to use public transport. For instance, pensioners and students should be given discount ticket and some people should be given some vouchers to lower their payment for the travel ticket. In this way, people can motivate themselves not to use their own cars because they have the cheapest option to travel. In conclusion, although the prohibition of car owners coming to the largest city in particular days is one way to tackle the environmental the authorities should look into other alternative ways to convince people to use the public transport network.