Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

In some Organizations, dressing smartly is more valued, while few others give importance to the work quality rather than appearance. Both the appearance and quality of work are important in their own way. However, we cannot precisely define which has to be valued higher than other. In this essay, I am going to describe my views and share my opinion. A few organizations believe that appearance does matter because they are of the opinion that wearing good outfits like formals often defines the work culture such as companies those involved in business operations, where its employees are expected to build network with people around them and with the clients from other organizations. In addition, dignified outfits and professional grooming is required for its employees in order to make a good impression on the company that they are representing. On the other hand, some institutions which constitute innovative technology and products do not consider the dress and appearance of its employees. In particular, whereas, the employees who wear what they like, work more confident and energetic while compared to the opposite. For example, amazon concentrates on reaching work goals and maintains a friendly culture among its employees. The option of giving a freedom of choice in choosing what to wear helps its employees improve the effectiveness of their work. To conclude, in my opinion, it depends on the organization's culture and defined objectives. As discussed above, those who entail in building communication have to give preference to dressing smartly whereas others who have commitments in technical aspects show priority to the quality of work over the appearance.