Some museums these days charge an admission fee while others do not. Does the practice of asking an admission fee outweigh any disadvantages? Discuss, including exampled from your own knowledge and experience.

Although many museums today remain open to the public for free, there are some that have already started changing nominal fees for admission. These establishments claim that doing so is important in order to fund the museum operations. However, I am of the opinion that there are more drawbacks than benefits with implementing this policy. Arguably, the advantage of having an admission fee for the museum is that it provides a steady stream of income that can be used to improve the quality and variety of displays to the ultimate benefit of visitors. Small museums often struggle to stay open if they rely solely on government funding since it may be inadequate to meet even the most rudimentary cost of staffing, power, security and maintenance. Hence, with these conditions, this extra revenue may be the difference between those museums' survival and inevitable closure. However, this scheme may also be deterimental to the museums. Many find such fees largely unacceptable. It is hard enough to get people of any age to go to museums as it is, without the added disincentive of a fee to add to their reasons to stay away. Museums seem to appeal to very few, and those that are government-run are poorly maintained and badly managed. Displays are largely static, uninspired and unchanged for years at a time. Charging a fee, in these circumstances, will only serve to dissuade people from paying these places a visit. As a consequence, instead of going to a museum, people just choose to spend their money on other cheaper and more worthwhile activities, considerably reducing viewership in museums and prompting governments or operators to completely shut them down in place of other more popular or profitable entertainment or recreational facilities. In this situation, therefore, instead of the admission fees helping the museums to thrive, they instead case these establishments to completely stop operating. In conclusion, the disadvantages of charging an admission fee far outweigh its advantages. Having such policy will only discourage more citizens from visiting museums, ultimately defeating the purpose of imposing it in the first place.