Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry. Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Have never been thought before that museums and art galleries become increasingly popular nowadays. It is apparent that some people enjoy their leisure time in those destinations while gaining knowledge. However, high operating costs force numerous owners to charge fee for every visitor though some admission is still free. This essay will discuss and scrutinize the benefits and drawbacks in charging money for the entrance. To begin with, the charging fees is crucial for maintaining the operating costs, such as staff salary and conservation cost. This is due to the fact that the heritage goods are not only valueable, but also vulnerable. In addition, every material needs a special treatment which is costly. For instance, the expense budget for animal museum in Malang, Indonesia, costs for more than 70% of the profit to keep the dying-body animals safe and stay-still. Moreover, the owner also need to pay some experts in order to avoid a damage risk caused by insects, worms, or dusts. Meanwhile, burdening costs to the visitors could reduce visitors. People tend to visit theme parks or gardens rather than paying for the museum or art galleries. Furthermore, rarely do children love wandering around the museums and meticulously watching the heritage goods. For example, when Surabaya museum charged the visitors at Rp50. 000/people, the profit dropped drastically to a quarter of the prior year due to the fact that the number of visitors also dipped. Hence, unless the owners consider the most ideal rate for the admission, they might loss visitors. All in all, imposing a gate fee is vital to guarantee the conservation of the museum. Nevertheless, a high cost might only reduce the visitors as well as the profit. As a solution, the government ought to give subsidy and incentive to the museum and art galleries companies to keep the maintenance cost are paid without harming the visitors.