Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry. Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Museums and art galleries are starting to attract more attention of the public these days. Admission fees are subjective to every museum, some prefer to charge fees while others have free entry. Charging admission fees might narrow down the number of visitors they receive. However, charging a small fee that would not trouble the visiters could be advantageous to these museums and art galleries. These institutions could use the fee to maintain and upgrade their art and other objects. The money could also be used in the administrative work of the place; employee salaries, repairs, bills and more. Development of more museums and art galleries would also be a benifit of charging admission fees as the financial aid recieved would encourage people. Another aspect of this is, the government would get taxes on this fee which would further result in development of such institutes. It would also paint us a clear picture of how interested the general public is towards art. Even after considering all the advantages, there still remain numerous reasons why charging an admission fee would have drawbacks. The foremost being, it would instanly alter the number of visitors they get as mentioned previously. The people responsible of the place might start getting greedy and increasing the fee. In some cases, it could make some people feel unwelcomed. But looking at both aspects, I strongly think that advantages far outweigh the disadvantages. Again there are some exceptions to this. But overall charging an admission fee could in the long run help in developing this sector and get more people interested in art galleries and museums.