Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry. Do you think the advantages of admission fees outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary era, it is often observed that an individual needs to purchase a ticket in order to visit certain museums and art exhibitions. However, sometimes there is no entry fees to visit such places. Personally, I am inclined to the view that the merits outweigh the drawbacks. One of the cogent reasons for charging fees is that it helps the museum management to pay for the maintenance expenses. This means that the authorities would have adequate money to pay the salaries of their employees and to maintain the infrastructure. If museums are maintained, then more people would visit them. As a result, more people would know about their rich culture. For example, Bhagat Singh Memorial, which is a museum where people could see Bhagat Singh's, who was a freedom fighter, clothes and various other items. The manager of the museum revealed in a press conference that they were able to renovate the infrastructure with the collection of entry ticket money. However, the major drawback to charging admission fees is that it would prevent people to visit the museums. If the authorities start charging tickets, then it might decrease the number of people, who visit such places. Individuals would not afford to pay for the visiting passes, Consequently affecting the total number of visitors. For instance, Victoria Memorial, which is situated in Kolkata, witnessed a drop in the total number of individuals, who visited the premises annually after they imposed an entry fee. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that the benefits of an entry fee to museums and art exhibitions prevail over the downsides.