Some multinational companies aim to reduce travel costs by encouraging online meetings(e. g. Skype) instead of face-to-face discussions. Although this may save money, why might online meetings be less effective than speaking in person

It is argued that online meetings could save time and money instead of attending in person. However, online meetings may not be as effective as appearing in person. It would be hard to present large projects. This essay aims at discussing why virtual meetings are less effective than face to face meetings. Doing online meetings might be good for businesses that want to discuss minor problems with their colleagues. However, it would be hard for listeners to understand when presenting big projects online with detailed explanations. For example, engineers need small building structures to explain. The small building structures would be difficult to be seen online for the attendances clearly on the camera while the person is presenting. Saving money through online meetings could be possible if the meeting was only about discussing and not presenting projects. Online meetings could be hard for listeners to follow up on the speaker ideas. For example, a glitch might happen from a weak internet connection. It would slow down the process of understanding when a person asks to repeat the speaker’s speech again. It is considered important for all of the attendances to be able to understand each other and engage in the meeting clearly and without being interrupted. In conclusion, online meetings can be successful and money-saving if they were for discussing small issues in the business. However, the key problem with online meetings is that it is hard to understand the full presentation of a speaker about detailed projects. A Strong internet connection is also required for listeners so they can understand smoothly. Overall, face to face meetings is the best for detailed presentations.