Some languages are increasing spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the modern era, world become a global village and humans are part of it. It has been observed that several languages are spoken more in all over the world; therefore, usage of local languages become very rare in recent time. If questioned, I firmly believe that this notion has more positives than negatives. My inclination is justified in the ensuing write-ups. There are several arguments to support my stance. The first and foremost one is that common language can make communication more easier. In other words, in today's progressive world, there is a necessity to interact with people of different nations; hence, public make one language abnormal for everyone. So, anyone can talk to citizen of other countries. For example, 83% population of the world can not only speak but also understand the English because it is an international language. Moreover, graduates can make their future better by speaking one common language. To illustrate, most of multi-national companies are working in only English because of popularity of it. Therefore, it becomes mandatory for employees to learn this language to work in these companies which contributes the most in this scenario. On the downside, the decreasing use of local language is the matter of concern. The reason is that decreasing popularity of domestic language can affect the culture of that place. To elaborate, it is fact that languages and cultures are inter-related. If use of language declines, culture will die out. For instance, there is a survey which was conducted by University of Tokyo in 2018; it revealed that 47% children of Japan can not speak Japanese because of excessive use of English. In conclusion, it has been seen that some languages are more preferred to speak in the world, while some are overlooked. Although common language can harm to the local culture, I strongly support that it can help to get more job opportunities and easy way for conversation with the population of the world.