As the number of private cars has increased, so too has the level of pollution in many cities. What can be done to tackle this increasingly common problem?

It is true that the air pollution level has been increasing in the last decade because the amount of private cars has considerably rosen along with, unfortunately, it has not been controlled properly. In this essay I will give some options that may be used to face this issue. The increase in the figure of private cars is a problem that, specially, big cities are leading in the siglo XXI. One potential solution is rise taxes when individuals want to obtain a car and fine older cars that circulate in the city centres. In fact, some developed countries have begun this strategy to reduce air pollution, such as Japan, they have the highest car taxes in the world and also they fined cars which are older than 5 years. Along with this, promoting the use of further public transport instead of private cars, it has been helping with this problem. This method shows that in some countries there have been decreasing air pollution issues. Following solutions to tackle this issue, another interesting idea growing up the last five years has been to raise the use of bicycles to go to work. For example in the UK, after an individual has been working a period of time more than six months, that person has access to buy a bicycle with a 30% discount. Figure shows that this method has increased the use of bicycles and it has fallen the numbers of particular cars on streets. To conclude, This essay has given different options and ideas that have already begun in the richer countries in the world. In my opinion those strategies should be incorporated in more countries in order to, all together, face this issue which involves every single person.