In most parts of the world people are living longer What are the possible causes of this situation Is this a negative or positive development v. 1

It is easy to understand how our healthcare system has improved since the twentieth century by the fact that people are living better and longer. However, even though this is a positive situation it also means that there are a lot of elderly people that need care and assistance in order to be happy and survive. To ensure that those in need have the necessary help, many people have been hired in new types of jobs known as caregivers. On the negative side, the fact that people are living longer has caused a rise in the age of retirement which means that many young people find it difficult to find a job as the elderly are worker many more years nowadays. As a younger person I believe that people should work until the reach a specific age, which would change according to the type of job they do, as is the case now, but to increase employment for young people, the state should give tax concessions to companies that give work to this new generation of job seekers. Another problem with people living longer is that the elderly who are not working are being paid contributions from the state for more years with the consequence that those who do work pay more taxes.