some language are declining while English is increasingly spoken across the world. is this a positive or a negative development

There is a fact that English has become an international language over the world while the other ones no longer gain widespread popularity in the world. While I believe that this could be an advantageous development, the drawbacks should not be overlooked. On the one hand, it is undeniable that society benefits significantly as several countries share a similar language. Firstly, easier can cross-cultural communication become, which is an opportunity to promote multilateral trade and cultural exchange. This is because those ones who master the English language tend to find it easier to do business or work in international companies as their issues at work can be addressed and discussed thoroughly. Secondly, if English is considered to be the only common language as a means of communication, less developed countries can accelerate the process of learning from more developed ones. India, for instance, has phenomenal growth in part due to its use of English as its official language. On the other hand, too much spotlight on one language might lead to some negative consequences for other dwelling ones. To begin with, lower usage of languages could cause the potential reduction in cultural traditions of different peoples embodied. To illustrate, the negligence of minorities’ mother tongue might push them to the verge of extinction. Furthermore, this trend affects not only each nation but also humanity's civilization, as the world's cultural diversity might be destroyed if all countries abandon their native tongues. In conclusion, this essay acknowledges that the globalization of English benefits the global economy. However, I believe that it also has some demerits for humans' origins as well as customs.