Some high schools have a requirement that students must complete a certain amount of volunteer work in order to graduate. What do you think about this type of requirement? Give details to support your opinion.

Some schools make their students do volunteer work in obligatory order and it has the same importance as graduating process. I think it is better to encourage people who enjoy charity then do it in a way of strict compliance. On one hand, there are a number of benefits of volunteering. Firstly, children will be able to help each other without shame due to the fact after such work they will have they own habit of volunteering. Moreover, it is vital to take part in charity work especially to have good manners. In addition, junior will know the real cost of working days and the fact that it is difficult. For example, 2 years ago my friend worked in volunteer organization that had been cleaning streets and this experience had her mind changed, consequently now she respectively applies to cleaners. But on the other hand, there are more cons than pros. It would be harmful for kids to do work they don't want complete. They might behave badly and it will destroy the whole expectations about necessity of this work in their minds. Firstly, volunteering is a choice of each person, and if someone tries to make other human doing charity it is a violation of freedom of choice. The main feature of volunteering is independent decision and nobody can force scholar do it. Overall, it is important to take part in charity organisations, but the main aspect of all this work is personally opportunity to decide. That's why it's better not to coerce teenagers complete this work only for their schooling.