Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead.

I strongly disagree on this, spending public money to train some one to be successfull in sport events is absolutely a great initiative by the government. we need to just appreciate and motivate such events doing by the government. Conducting such programs wil make our nation proud and exposes our country's pride. we need to just make sure that it is not being misused by government officials who are condcuting these events, spending a lot of money for one good sports player brings us lots of appreciations and exposure through out the world. One must think in such a way that you are sponsoring for a gem of person who will put us on top of the world and inspire so many people in the country. Spending these money for the benefit of the people is not at all wrong point but we have many other means to benift the general public, there are lot of schemes introduced by the government which helps common public in different ways, there are so many non profit organisations who helps the needy people in our nation. I have one of my friend who was my schoolmate, he was desperate in playing cricket in my schooldays and my principal obsevered his dedication towards the game and approached distirct collector and sports minister and requested them to sponsor on behalf of government for his tournaments and leagues, he believed that this child will make our nation pride so as minister did and sponsored him for all the leagues and now he is one of the popular sportstar in India and his name is Mohammad Siraj one of the reputed player in indian team. This story of my firend inspired me a lot and I started supporting such events which are conducted by goverment.