The best way to increase road safety is to make car drivers retake their driving test every year.

Safety issues on road is one of the major concerns in this modern world. To mitigate this problem, retaking driving tests annually is considered to be the optimal solution. However, l strongly disagree with this notion as there are other better alternative ways like public awareness and adequate infrastructure for effective implementation of road safety rules. Taking driving tests year after year is a time consuming process which will eschew the productive hours of both test takers and test givers. Additionally, the paper work will get increased by leaps and bounds by introducing this phenomenon. Moreover, a surge in the costs of transport department can be seen for maintaining and conducting driving tests again and again. These huge expenditure could otherwise be utilized for the development of the department. Conversely, making individuals aware of their own responsibility on roads is one of the best way to deal with road mishappenings. It has also been found that the number of road rage and accidents are on sharp decline when people are aware about the consequences of it. For this, social awareness programs must be held after regular intervals. In fact, clear boards and sign posts on roads are another solutions which is must for ensuring road safety. Also, good quality material for constructing highways and streets can also do a great help. To conclude, retaking driving tests is a burdensome activity for the society and is not the only solution for enhancing road safety. While awareness programmes and road overhead costs are of great significance.