Some governments regulate how many children people may have or try to control the number of children peopple have through taces to what extend do you think it is necessary for governments to control population in this way

I think governments should do their best to control the number of children have. Here l shall say why I s believe this Many people argue parents should decide how many children they bring into the world. The right to have children os a fundamental one recognised in every country. Whlist I agree parents should have the right to bear children and l think children ara generally wonderful, l do not accept that parents alone should decide how many children have. The world is, in my opinion, overpopulated. The population of the planet is projected by United Nations to grow by about 40% over the next 40-50 years. Since environmental degradation due to human activity is already so sever and the natural resources of the world are almost certainly insufficient for all of us to have the high standart of living so many people are aiming for, we have to make decisions on the issue of population growth. We could continue as we have always done- to increase human population and continue to use more resources for capita. Some would argue that this choice is perfectly reasonable. Throughout human history we have been able to support larger human populations through technological advancements. We have been also able to migrate, from first humans to keave Africa to the mass migration to the United States in more recent centuries However, relying on technological advancement is dangerous. If we suddenly discover that we are unable to solve overpopulation through technology, the results are likely to be catastropic, especially given the range of weapons many govenments have. Relying on migrations is also something that could cause great problems. As the environment becomes degrated in some areas and populatipns become too large, people will try to gey better places, putting great strain on those countries that migrants head to. The solution, it seems to me, is limit population drastically. There will be difficulties such as male famale imbalance and smaller future workforce. However l feel that those are smaller problems than the one we are likely to face because of population growth.