Advantages and disadvantages of using public transport

Nowadays, Public transport has become increasingly important since our population is growing and we also have to slow down global warming. Therefore, public transport will play an even bigger role in the future. In this essay I will look at both sides and try to draw some conclusions. Let's begin by looking at the advantages of utilizing public transport. In big cities, air pollution often is a serious problem. Especially in the US and China large numbers of cars and motorbikes are used to get from A to B. However, the use of those vehicles that are mostly operated by fossil fuels implies significant air pollution. This air pollution is not only quite unpleasant and lowers the overall quality of life of many people, it can also lead to serious health issues like asthma or other pulmonary diseases. Thus, by using public transport instead of cars, the air pollution problem can be mitigated quite effectively. Secondly, If you consider not only the costs for fuel, but also the costs for repairs, maintenance and so on, public transport will be much cheaper for every individual compared to owning a private car. Thus, especially if you are on a budget and need every dollar, you might want to use public transport instead of owning car since you can save plenty of money over time by doing so. Turning to the other side of the argument, In some areas, you might also have to wait for quite long until the next bus or train will arrive. Especially, in rural regions, the frequency of public transport vehicles will often be rather low and sometimes there will even only be a few buses a day. Thus, if you do not the schedule, you might hate to wait over on tour until you can take the next bus that will finally bring you to your destination. Another issue is that it may also be quite unreliable. In some regions, buses or train may be late on a regular basis or might not show up at all. Thus, if you live in one of these areas, you might not want to rely on public transport, especially if you have important appointments and you cannot afford to show up late. All things considered, It is a great way to get around, especially in big cities where the public transport system is often quite good. It will become even more important to utilize public transport instead of cars in the future in order to slow down global warming. Personally, I believe the benefits in terms of personal growth eventually outweigh any negatives.