In some countries, small town-Centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

As a result of urbanization, cities are now surrounded by suburbs, and these areas often feature a large mall or shopping centre. The concentration of products in one location make these retail outlets attractive destinations for consumers, who almost without exception drive to them. Despite the benefits of these all-in-one locations, there are some notable drawbacks that should be considered. Beginning with the positive aspects, it is clear that a gigantic mall offers more choice to the consumer. Moreover, the large chain stores that populate these shopping centres generally offer cheaper prices due to economies of scale. A further convenience is that a considerable amount of the population resides in suburban zones, so these large shopping centers are actually closer to people than traditional stores situated in the central business district. Nevertheless, there are some highly undesirable effects of this situation. For one, large stores and malls are operated by monolithic corporations who run small shop owners out of business, while not returning much to the local community. In fact, Walmart, one of the largest mega-stores in the United States receives a massive amount of government welfare, while locally-owned businesses are forced into bankruptcy and even Walmart employees are paid minimum wage and often rely on government handouts. Not to mention, the almost ubiquitous practice of driving to malls and large chain stores puts a strain on local transport infrastructure, increasing traffic congestion and contributing to air pollution. Overall, while having everything available in one location is undeniably convenient, the harm to local communities is similarly clear. As the saying goes, ‘You can’t have your cake and eat it too’, and in this instance it seems that the benefits of large stores is outweighed by the economic and social harm they cause.