Some feel governments should invest in preserving minority languages, while others feel this is not a good use of resources.

Many are of the belief that it would be worthwhile for governments to prioritise the preservation of various minority languages. In my opinion, despite limited potential efficacy this sentiment is justifiable. Detractors of this proposal argue that investment is unlikely to have a major impact. In order for minority groups to earn a living and enjoy the conveniences of the modern world, they require knowledge of a nation’s most widely spoken language. In fact, many indigenous peoples themselves desire to move away from their hometowns to live in large cities and join the modern workforce. For example, in the Hmong people of Southeast Asia, it is typically the older generation that seeks to communicate in their native tongue and preserve traditional ways of life. The younger generation, generally, would rather learn the most useful language and integrate with the dominant national culture. Therefore efforts by governments oppose what individuals desire and are unlikely to be successful. Nonetheless, there is cultural value in preserving a language. A language uniquely represents and codifies the external world. Everything from the verb structures and choice of nouns to the intonation and rhythm of the language present a singular way of interacting with and deciphering the world at large. For example, in many languages there are words that are not precisely translatable and users therefore are more likely to see events and objects differently. As the world becomes increasingly globalised, I would argue that the importance of a plurality of perspectives only becomes more crucial. If such languages die out, they will likely never be resurrected and the world will be poorer for the loss. In conclusion, regardless of the potential challenges faced in preserving minority languages, their continued existence is essential to diversity. Governments must therefore make every effort to ensure their survival.