SOME FEEL GOVERNMENTS, RATHER THAN PRIVATE COMPANIES, SHOULD BE IN CHARGE OF MEDICAL SERVICES.

It is argued by many that the government should be responsible to provide medical care and services for its citizens instead of relying on private companies. From my perspective, I partially disagree with this school of thought as I believe patients as well as average citizens would reap the most benefits from a joint effort of both parties. In the first place, I would argue that private medical companies can give better care and services than the authorities. A compelling justification is that these companies are driven by financial incentives as well as competition. Therefore, they invest a huge amount of money to derive the most effective drugs and treatment for various illnesses. Meanwhile, the government, often rely on national budget contributed by taxpayers, might not be able to provide the best possible medical services. For instance, in Vietnam, many private hospitals including Hong Ngoc and VinMec are praised for their excellent care and quality of treatment. However, I concur that a collaboration between the government and private companies is the best approach to ensure high quality of treatment for patients. In other words, each party involved should be responsible for an aspect of healthcare. While pharmaceutical companies invest labor and capital into research and development to produce the latest drugs and cure, the authorities can focus on providing health insurance and subsidizing medicine's price so that its citizens could afford. The COVID-19 pandemic perfectly exemplifies this, private companies work tirelessly to derive vaccines at record time, whereas governments across the purchase them and distribute to the general population for a discount price or even free. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the responsibility of giving medical care services should not only lie on the government’s shoulder. It is recommended that private companies should be involved in the R&D while the administration give its effort to ensure the financial incentives for both those organizations and the wellbeing of their citizens.