Some Experts Believe That It Is Better For Children To Begin Learning A Foreign Language At Primary School Rather Than Secondary School.

In our modern society, it is debating whether students should start to learn a foreign language at primary school. Some people believe that it is better than studying at secondary school, others hole the opposite point of view. From my perspective, I side with the first one On the one hand. studying another language at primary school may lead to some disadvantages. Firstly, it could be an extra burden for children as their curriculum includes many subjects such as math, literature…, which they should spend the priority on. Secondly, children may be confused due to learning many languages at a time and this can slow down the development process of them. For example, they might feel hard to speak their mother tongue with fluency On the other hand, I believe that this view brings about more positive impacts. It is obvious that children at this period have a great memory and they learn new things very fast. Therefore, they can pick up pronunciation easily and try to mimic it. Next, being expert at a new language at primary school would help them enormously in the long run. By knowing a second language, they can acquire knowledge about lifestyle, the culture of a different country and are able to adapt well when studying abroad. Hence, being able to learn a second language will give competitive advantages for the children. To sum up, despite certain disadvantages, it seems to me that learning a foreign language as soon as possible bring a vast amount of benefits