Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is important to acknowledge the significance of learning a second language at school. While some researchers believe that there are many drawbacks when students have to learn a foreign language at primary school, I believe it holds more benefits for young children to being studying a foreign language at this level. Having a closer look at the disadvantages of starting a new language at primary class, one can easily argue that it will create more burden on the students. This is simply because children do not have the ability to handle pressure at such a young age. Alternately, if they initiate to study a new language from seconday school, they will face more difficulties than before. Consequently, they will loose their motivation and willingness to get started with this new language course. However, if students begin learning a foreign language at primary school, they will have an edge over other students. At this age, the brain is developing new neurons and therefore, a strong foundation of a new language can be built among students. Furthermore, children will develop better communication skills in their foreign language as they will be relating everything in their daily life with this language. This will result in children having developed competent language skills which will be extremely beneficial for them in their careers and future life. In conclusion, although there are some negatives in learning a foreign language at a primary levels compared to secondary such as more burden on the students, I personally believe that there are more positives to this such as strong language foundation and better communication skills for these young students.