the advantages brought by the spread of English as a global language outweigh the disadvantages

Today's fast-growing technology is making this world a 'glocal' (global + local) village. People are being connected via a language which is universally comprehensible. This language is none than English. In spite of being spoken in various styles, English has successfully captured the attention of all people belonging to various sections of the society. It is this characteristic that has made it the 'global language'. The global language status that English enjoys is an advantage to many sectors namely tourism, banking, education, health, etc. Every being is dependent on one another for survival and so are languages. It is imperative for us to note its transition from being a language of class to becoming an important tool for connecting various sections and sectors of the society. Take for instance the sector of tourism which is developing by leaps and bounds. An individual is becoming more of an explorer and English as a communication tool has helped him discover the importance of many cultures and traditions. The banking sector also has an important role to play in connecting and improving various businesses. The medical industry is coming up with various solutions to problems involving critical care and we have to note how Scientists from the world over have a role to play here. Education is another important industry that needs to be mentioned here. The possibility of comprehending the vastness of the English usage lies in educating the masses both in schools and outside, about the effective uses of a tool that helps you connect globally. In spite of these, it is the worry of many that English has brought in an enormous amount of globalisation, that many people today are in a vulnerable situation. This vulnerability is with regard to the sidelining of one's own regional language/mother tongue and their cultural practices. If this step-motherly attitude can be overcome, there is nothing more advantageous than having the benefit of both a universal language and a regional language. With the world moving at this speed, it is inevitable for the existence of a global language whose advantages mask the disadvantages that it carries along.