Nowadays genetically modified food is widespread all over the world. While proponents of GM crops ensure that these foods are safe for human consumption and help to increase food supplies, others argue that their effects on health have not been studied long enough. Describe pros and cons of genetically modified foods.

One of the pressing issues of these days is the problem associated with organic food shortage and every day this problem gets more and more serious. Therefore, scientists started hunting through possible solutions for this problem and one of these decisions is GMO food. Personally, I don’t assume that GMO food is ready for massive exploit due to the fact that it is not fully explored. To start with, GM crops have advantages as well as disadvantages, however, to my opinion, drawbacks overweigh benefits. And there are a bunch of grounds for that, first of all, because engineering GMO food is a relatively new practice, little is known about the long-term effects and safety. So, for instance, some people believe that GMO foods have a large potential to trigger allergic reactions. This is because they may contain genes from an allergen – a food that prompts an allergic reaction. Or another example is that some researchers believe that eating GMO foods can contribute to the development of cancer. They argue that because the disease is caused by mutations in DNA, it is dangerous to introduce new genes into the body.