Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Many employers like to have an option to connect with their staff, even excluding business hours. While this development has both pros and cons, this essay will discuss how it does not have more advantages than disadvantages. One of the significant reasons for employers wanting to connect to staff even on holidays is emergency cases. For instance, in a tech-based startup, an employer would want to get the website-server immediately up and running if it goes down on a Sunday. Similarly, in businesses, employers would not want to lose a deal over a weekend because some of the documents were missing in an email. Employers will not accept significant losses in their fame or revenue due to such rife and trivial nuances. Hence, they insist on being able to connect with the staff even during holidays. Employers would, therefore be able to serve their customers better. That said, this effectively removes a lull from employees' lives, as holidays are the only time to relax from their work-based stress and enjoy with family. Moreover, holidays and weekends are private time-off in an individual's life. Hindering this because of work-based trivialities effectively ruin their privacy as well. Besides, reports have shown that such interruption causes annoyance and frustration in people. To sum up, employers can get greedy and selfish during holidays to get their work done, which may seem infinitesimal from their perspective. However, to employees, such interruptions are often annoying and most definitely privacy-hindering. Hence, the advantages of such a development are fuelled by selfish motives and generate one-sided benefits. It does assuredly not outweigh the disadvantages.