Some ecperts believe that it is better to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages ?

The argument of starting to learn a foreign language as early as in primary school is supported by many professionals. While this maybe beneficial because in primary school the curriculum is less crowded, I think that it will distract children from learning their mother language which surely outweigh the advantage mentioned. The main advantage of teaching foreign languages in primary schools is that most of their curricula are not very heavy. All subjects taught in these schools are introductory, therefore, it would be much easier to fit in classes for foreign languages without placing a burden on on the students or asking them to stay extra hours in school. For instance, in my country, all private primary schools schedule English language classes from the first grade without interfering with any other subject because the curriculum is quiet flexible. However, I believe that starting to learn a new language in primary school will negatively impact the learning process of the original language of the students. Children by default learn how to speak their mother tongue at a very young age, nevertheless, writing and speaking are two more advanced skills that must be gained from school sessions and teaching the child two languages at the same time will create a state of confusion. Consequently, the child will end up distracted and will not master either. Taking Arabs as an example, most of them are taught in primary schools that teach English as well as Arabic and the result of this is that most of them don't speak Arabic nor English fluently. In conclusion, although a huge number of experts support teaching new languages in primary school because they have less busy timetables, in my opinion, the disadvantage of distracting students from their mother language clearly outweigh the benefit.