Many people continue to use cars and motorcycles even though they know that they are bad for the environment. Whilst this? What can be done to reduce the use of these vehicles?

In today's world, it has been observed that majority of the population is using cars and motorcycles for commuting purpose, even though, people are well aware that these have a detrimental effect on the environment. This essay will examine the reasons for the constant use of two-wheelers and four-wheelers as well as will also suggest the possible solutions to alleviate this problem. The predominant factors resulting in the unceasing usage of private vehicles is that they are time-saving and flexible. In other words, if one travels by personal transport then it consumes less time as compared to public transportation. For instance, people can travel in their cars without wasting a single minute, whereas they need to wait for the arrival of the buses and trains at stations. Flexibility, is another important aspect that tempts the Populus to overuse private vehicles. Individuals can travel at any point of the day without the need of walking down to the train or bus station. Furthermore, in case of emergencies such as going to a doctor or being on time for an appointment, owning a private mode of transport is the most convenient option. Nevertheless, there are potential solutions that could prove effective In decreasing the usage of private conveyance. First of all, the government needs to strengthen the public transport system. The frequency of buses and trains should be increased to reduce the waiting time. Moreover, direct routes with fewer halts need to be introduced to help passengers reach their destinations on time, also, to discourage the rampant use of the private mode of transportation people must be encouraged to adopt the carpool system. For example, If the colleagues or friends follow the same route to their office, then they can travel together in the same vehicle rather than commuting into different vehicles, thus this system will lower the traffic congestion and help in decreasing the pollution level. In conclusion, due to the time constraint and convenience provided by personal transportation, it is used by a multitude of people. However, if both the government and citizens take responsibility and use appropriate measures to tackle this issue, it will result in reduced traffic load as well as consequentially lead to a clean and healthy environment.