Some countries invest in specialized sports facilities for top athletes but not for the average people. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is undeniable that several countries have a tendency of government funding for sport is spent on facilities for professional sportsmen instead of providing equipment for the public purpose. Although I agree that this policy brings about some benefits. I am convinced that its negative aspects are noticeable. On the one hand, investment in specialized sports facilities for top athletes may lead to considerable successes. The main reason for this trend is that almost every country wants to be recognized for its sport industry. It is obvious that when sports players have a chance to practice in better conditions with modern equipment, they tend to contribute spectacular results in international competitions and gain great respect for their country. For example, China has long been well known for many gold medals in swimming in the Olympic Games due to their sufficient investment in infrastructure and internally developed method of training for prospective Olympians. Moreover, this trend of development may have a positive impact on the youngsters who, in turn, will be more likely to choose the sports profession, contributing to the boom of the national sports industry in many years to come. On the other hand, the drawbacks of insufficient financial resources for public sports facilities should be considered. The most significant of these is that public health may deteriorate. The fact that only a small amount of the government’s budget expenditures on public sports, which result in the shortage of fitness centers and an increase in the expense to join sports clubs. In addition, many citizens in poorer neighborhoods lack access to parks and modern facilities. As a result, not many people can engage in sports activities regularly, which may, unfortunately, increase the chances of people leading a sedentary lifestyle which is totally against the active lifestyle that sports are trying to promote. In conclusion, heavy investment in sports facilities aimed at professional athletes has both advantages and disadvantages; however, the latter far outweighs the former.