Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world.

There are countries wherein local supply of food is scarce at times and as a solution, they import massive amounts of food from other nation. Although this may have an economic drawback, I believe that importing foods to fix food shortages is a positive trend. Importing enormous amounts of food can negatively affect the economy. Some of the imported crops can be vastly available locally which affects the food supply and consequently, the overall sales of the locally available products. For example, in the Philippines, where there is an abundant supply of rice, vast imports of rice from other country will greatly increase the nation's overall rice supply. As a result, locally available rice are set to lower prices to stay competitive in the market. This does not only disrupt the supply chain but also has a destructive impact to the economy. On the other hand, importing food from other country is beneficial to nations where local food products is scarce. Some foods are only available to certain places in the world, hence, nations have to import foods that are not available to them. For instance, strawberries can only grow in high and cold land so tropical countries are forced to import it from other nations. This way, everyone has a chance to enjoy eating certain foods even when it cannot be grown locally. In conclusion, even though there can be an economic downside of importing massive amounts of food from other countries, I believe that it is still a positive trend as it can solve food scarcity. Food imports can be beneficial but it should be controlled to prevent negative consequences on the economy.