Some countries have very strict disciplinary rules for children, while in other countries they are not at all strict. What in your opinion is the best way?

It is important to instill the disciplined way of life in children, for their betterment. People usually formulate and lay certain rules to ensure that children remain disciplined. But in some countries there are very strict rules, while in others, there are very lenient rules. For the most effective results, the rules should be neither too strict, nor too lenient, so as to not make children feel burdened our bound, let them make independent choices, and to inspire them to be more creative. By having stricter rules, the children feel burdened to follow only the laid guidelines, or leading only the established lifestyle. They feel as if they are bound by shackles. On the other hand, if the rules are not at all strict, children fail to understand the importance of discipline in life. For example, in India, children respect their elders and teachers, while in western world, they don’t. Hence, mildly strict rules, like in India are most suitable for children’s’ development. When children are overburdened with rules, they lose the ability to make decisions in life, wherever and whenever necessary. They are not able to think independently. On the flip side, when there are almost no rules, children do not possess the maturity to make the right decisions or choices in life. For an instance, in countries like USA, with very lenient disciplinary policies, a huge number of children fall prey to numerous addictions – alcohol, smoking, drugs - to name a few, at a very young age. Hence, rules with average strictness are most effective for children’s well-being. When the children are under a compulsion to obey only a particular set of rules their potential to being creative and imaginative keeps on decreasing with time. While, on having no compulsion, the children experience everything and have no need for imagining or creating. For example, in Saudi Arabia, where there are very strict rules, the children have very less imagination power and creative skills compared to children of other nations. Hence, mildly lenient rules can help children develop all the required skills while maintaining the discipline needed to acquire them. Therefore, to conclude, it can be said that neither of the extremities are helpful for the holistic development of children. They have to be in a tactical environment which adjusts the level of strictness as per the needs, so as to give them an essence of freedom, while still understanding the importance of discipline in life. Only in this way can children develop most effectively. So, what are your views on this?